Texas Metal Outlaws is a who’s who of metal artists from you guessed it Texas. They have just released the debut video for the track “Texas Metal Outlaws”, if this is any indication of what the entire album sounds like, then we’re in for a modern classic. The album was recorded by 24 different musicians spread out over each track.

Here is a sample of the press release sent to us about the project:

The heat, the attitude, the METAL! Texas doesn’t do subtly and it sure as hell doesn’t do mellow, as evidenced by the forthcoming self-titled album of molten Lone Star metal from TEXAS METAL OUTLAWS. Available on CD (Heaven and Hell Records) and vinyl (Texas Metal Underground Records), each of the album’s nine tracks features a unique line-up of players from the deep well of Texas metal talent.

Though barely scratching the surface of the magic on offer, some particularly interesting aspects of the album include:

The appearance of every member of WITCHES MARK on “Malt Liquor Maniac.”

Bonus track “Black and Green” features every member of Agony Column, plus guitarist Robert Williams (IGNITOR/WITCHES MARK) and is the first thing AGONY COLUMN has recorded since 1995’s Way Back In The Woods album.

The Burt Bacharach/Carole Bayer Sager-penned cover of “That’s What Friends are For” features a complete previous lineup of IGNITOR plus Orlando Logan Perez (AGAINST THE PLAGUES, VEX, WHORE OF BABYLON).

The cover song “Running From The Law” from RIOT’s Born In America album was recorded as a tribute to Mark Reale and Rhett Forrester and even features Donnie Van Stavern (RIOT) on bass.

Article by Victor M. Ruiz of earpeelerMars Attacks Radio & Podcast, and Galaxy Of Geeks Podcast.  Connect with him on Twitter:  @vmr907

Facebook Twitter Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.