Ace Frehley has been discussing his second all covers album, Origins Vol 2 for some time. Today we have received a video for his take on the Deep Purple classic “Space Trucking”. He has put his spin on the song, and morphed it into “Space Ace Truckin”.

As with most of Ace’s solo work, he recorded everything on the track, except for the drums, which where handled by Matt Star. The keyboards where handled by Rob Sabino, who has worked with Peter Frampton as well as Simon & Garfunkel in the past.

Ace had this to say about the track:

‘Space Truckin’ was recorded years ago, and then I just re-recorded some parts and changed it a little. We never ended up putting it on a record, so it was just sitting around. It turned out very well. Rob Sabino is a very accomplished studio musician, and we actually grew up in the Bronx together, so we go way back.

Like Origins Vol 1 this new covers albums features a bunch of guest appearances. Robin Zander of Cheap Trick, former Kiss guitarist Bruce Kulick, and the return of John 5 and Lita Ford. Here is album’s track list:

1. Good Times Bad Times (Led Zeppelin)
2. Never In My Life (Mountain)
3. Space Truckin’ (Deep Purple)
4. I’m Down (The Beatles) With John 5
5. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (The Rolling Stones) With Lita Ford
6. Politician (Cream) With John 5
7. Lola (The Kinks)
8. 30 Days In The Hole (Humble Pie) With Robin Zander
9. Manic Depression (The Jimi Hendrix Experience) With Bruce Kulick
10. Kicks (Paul Revere & the Raiders)
11. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place (The Animals)
12. She (KISS) [Bonus Track]

Check out Ace Frehley covering “Space Truckin” here:

 You can pre-order the album here.

Article by Victor M. Ruiz of Mars Attacks Radio & Podcast, and Galaxy Of Geeks Podcast.  Connect with him on Twitter:  @vmr907

Facebook Twitter Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.